International Solar Alliance (ISA)

The International Solar Alliance (ISA) is a treaty-based international intergovernmental alliance of 121 solar resource rich countries lying fully or partially between the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn.

The ISA was launched as a coalition of the solar-rich countries by Mr Narendra Modi, Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, and Mr François Hollande, former Hon’ble President of France, in the presence of H.E. Ban Ki Moon, former Secretary-General of the United Nations, at Paris on November 30, 2015, the first day of the Conference of Parties (CoP) 21 of the United Nation’s Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).

The Paris Declaration establishes ISA as an alliance dedicated to the promotion of solar energy among its member countries. The ISA’s major objectives include deployment of over 1000GW of solar capacity and mobilisation of investment of over US$ 1000 billion into solar energy by 2030. As an action-oriented organisation, the ISA brings together countries with rich solar potential to aggregate global demand, thereby reducing prices, facilitating the deployment of existing solar technologies at scale, and promoting collaborative solar R&D and capacity.

The ISA Framework Agreement entered into force on the thirtieth day after the date of deposit of the fifteenth instrument of ratification, acceptance and approval on 6th December, 2017. With ISA Framework Agreement entry into force, ISA formally becomes a de jure treaty based International Intergovernmental Organization. As of now the ISA Framework Agreement has been signed by 48 countries, with 19 having deposited the instruments of ratification

The ISA is headquartered at Gurugram, Haryana, in India. H.E. Mr. Upendra Tripathy is the Interim Director General of ISA.